Why You Need a dallas dwi lawyer
for DWI Charges in Texas
Driving While Intoxicated – Got a DWI in Dallas?
A DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) conviction can ruin your life. Aside from the legal ramifications of being convicted of DWI, there are many social and escalated legal consequences that can result from drunk driving up to and including involuntary manslaughter. If you are arrested for DWI, this is not the time to rely on how to instructions from how to articles on liberating yourself from the consequences of a DWI charge.
There is something else that needs to be clarified. A DWI is not the same as a DUI (Driving Under the Influence). In Texas, there is one major difference between the two charges and that is your age. The magic age is 21. If you are caught drinking and driving and you are under 21, you get charged with DUI most of the time and all it takes is a detectable amount of alcohol in your system. The sentences for a DUI are lighter but the test for alcohol is stricter.
If you are over 21 and your blood alcohol level is above .08, you can be charged with Texas DWI. The first thing you need to do is get a good dallas dwi lawyer.
This is not the time to try to be your own defense. It is worth noting that even if you are under 21, you can be charged with DWI. The arresting officer is the one who gets to make that call. Often the DUI is a courtesy to your age because the penalties are less.
People make jokes about drunk driving but look at what can happen to you. You can be fined between $2,000 to $10,000, sent to jail or state prison for anywhere from 3 days to 10 years, lose your license for up to 2 years, have an ignition interlock device installed on your car, and be required to take an alcohol education and intervention program. Think about the consequences of any of these punishments. Losing your license will make it challenging to get to work and carry out your family duties. Going to jail can change the whole trajectory of your life path.
When you are arrested for a DWI, you must put this at the top of your to-do list: select good lawyer. You don’t have the right to an lawyer when it comes to taking the blood or breath test. By refusing to take a breath test, you could face a suspension of your license for up to 2 years. When you get to court, the refusal can be used against you. According to the courts, there is no 5th Amendment protection when it comes to breath or blood tests.
Being charged with DWI is not to be taken lightly. This is not the time for any grand DIY gestures. Texas is cracking down on intoxicated driving. This means that the laws become more and more stringent every year. Immediately contact a lawyer who specializes in dealing with DWI issues. Lawyers come in many forms. There are criminal lawyers, family lawyers, personal injury lawyers, business litigation lawyers, drunk driving lawyers, and maybe you have a personal friend who is a lawyer.
Who you hire is up to you but the crucial thing to consider is that you need a lawyer who has the experience and knows DWI case law inside out. A personal injury lawyer or a top notch criminal lawyer might be ideal if you were in an automobile accident but a good dwi lawyer dallas is essential if you want to reclaim your life following a DWI arrest. You can’t put a price on freedom.